Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: can I use colored stain to paint my hives?  (Read 2933 times)

Offline marliah

• House Bee
can I use colored stain to paint my hives?
« on: April 29, 2008, 12:45:26 pm »
I'm completely new to this, just got my hive today and am picking up my nucs on Saturday.

I was told I should paint the hive, but I was wondering if it would be ok for me to use a colored (like pink or green) wood stain and sealant instead? any reason I shouldn't do that?

Thanks in advance!

Tara
Tara
beekeeper in central Maine
Finally getting bees again! 6/12/13

Offline annette

• Galactic Bee
Re: can I use colored stain to paint my hives?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 01:45:44 pm »
I believe you can paint them any color you want, as long as you do not paint the insides where the bees will live. Also if the stain has a strong smell, I would let them air out in the sun until any smells do not linger.

By the way, Tara, welcome to the beeforum. Ask away any questions you may have and someone will always come to help you here.
I started beekeeping April 2006 with one hive, and now have 2. I never could have made it without the help from this forum. So many things come up, so many challenges and sometimes you just need help ASAP. Well you will get it here.

Good luck with the transferring of the nuc and show us some photos after you paint the hive. OH you might have to ask permission to post photos at first. New people are not allowed to post right away.

Take care
Annette

Offline doak

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2008, 01:50:42 pm »
I use a good flat exterior paint with 2 or 3 coats. I like "bull frog green" and dull white.
doak

Offline Barbara

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2008, 01:53:41 pm »
We used an exterior latex that we got at Lowe's for $5 in the mis-tinted section.  So our hives are powder blue  :-D
Barbara

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2008, 08:12:05 am »