Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: KTBH in South Carolina  (Read 5237 times)

Offline Beeninja

• New Bee
KTBH in South Carolina
« on: December 03, 2012, 03:03:12 pm »
Hello everyone from S.C. I am in the process of building my Kenya  top bar hive and  I am not sure of what type of button is best in the Carolinas, solid or screened. All the Beeks I could find local have traditional hives no TBH's. I am new to the Beek life stile and this is my first hive. Being that the KTBH is so readily frowned upon for newbies, I expect some dissension. I am in it more for the bees then the honey. Just want to make the right choice and this site seems like the place to find answers.  All the post I’ve read were full of opinions going both ways but none from my area so I figured I would ask to see if any local KTBH Beeks could chime in. Any help would be appreciated.

Offline Joe D

• Super Bee
Re: KTBH in South Carolina
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 03:43:58 pm »
Beeninja, I am not from your area, and I wan't get into the pros and cons of a newbee using a TBH.  But are you buying ar building the hive?  There are several different ways to build and have a SBB.  Some just have a SBB, some have a SBB with a small space and then a board that either slides out or drops down.  On mine there is a little distance between SBB and the bottom of the hive body.  I made a tray to put apple cider vinager and oil for the mites and SHBs to fall into.  You do have to empty it regularly.  But any with something to enclose the bottom shouldn't make it alot more airy in the winter.

Joe

Offline Beeninja

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 04:47:46 pm »