Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Help! Noob needs advice on foundation wiring.  (Read 4498 times)

Offline Davzbeez

• New Bee
Help! Noob needs advice on foundation wiring.
« on: October 14, 2005, 05:10:34 pm »
I am new to beekeeping and plan to buy equipment this winter and install two hives next spring.  I plan to use medium supers for everything including brood chamber.  My question is this:  If I buy wedge top bars and wired wax foundation, do I have to also embed horizontal wire?  :?:
Deformis Sed Suspendium

Ask Gandalf!

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2005, 06:14:22 pm »
If I buy wedge top bars and wired wax foundation, do I have to also embed horizontal wire?

You don't have to, but I like to (even with duragilt).  I just helps make the foundation to be that much more sturdy.  I wouldn't call it embedding though.  You would essentially be threading the wire through the frame's pre-drilled holes.  Make sure they are nice and tight.

Also, if you get the wired foundation without the hooks, you wouldn't need those wedge style frames.  IMO, the grooved ones are a lot nicer.  You don't have to screw around with an extra piece of wood or worry about poking a hole in your foundation if you are using a small hammer to pound in the tiny nails.

Good luck
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')

Offline Jerrymac

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2005, 07:52:07 pm »
I think someone needs a smaller picture.

WOW It worked. :)
:rainbowflower:  Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak.   :rainbowflower:

:jerry:

My pictures.Type in password;  youview
     http://photobucket.com/albums/v225/Jerry-mac/

manowar422

« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2005, 08:42:33 pm »
IMO wires will help the wax sheets stay straight, I'll never
go without wires in my frames again.
I made the big mistake of starting my hive with deep boxes
and the crimp wired foundation in the frames.