Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Too much space?  (Read 4866 times)

Offline jim81147

• New Bee
Too much space?
« on: March 02, 2013, 09:27:13 pm »
Total noob here . I got my hive and super kits yesterday from Mann Lake . I started putting them together today . I got 8 frame equipment . So I put in 8 frames just to see how everything fits and I find out I have enough room for a 9th frame with room left over . Is that how its supposed to be? Are the frames just centered in the box leaving an air gap on both edges ?From all the pics I have seen I was expecting the frames to totally fill the hive/super . Did I screw something up before i even started? :-\  Thanks.
If my bee's can survive me , Varroa doesn't stand a chance !!!

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
Re: Too much space?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 10:15:34 pm »
You most certainlywant to use 9 frames in the box until the combs in the frames are drawn and push them together tight to the middle.  The frames will get wider from wax and propolis.  Personally, I trim all my frames to 1 1/4" so I can get 11 in my ten frame boxes and run them that way until the combs are drawn. 

Moots

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2013, 11:45:38 pm »
NO...That isn't how it works!  If you ordered 8 frame equipment and it's fitting 9 frames, something's very wrong.  I run 8 frame equipment,  while there is some "play" with all 8 frames installed and you split the difference and center them....a ninth frame does not fit!

What's the measurements of your box?

Offline jim81147

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2013, 12:27:59 am »
Inside dimension on the box is 12 1/2 inches . 8 frames measures 10 15/16 inches . 9 frames measures 12 1/4 inches . I was thinking about going with 1 1/4 inch frames like Michael Bush discusses and that would measure 9 frames = 11 1/4 inches , so the least amount of gap i could get would be 9 regular frames = 1/4 inch left over , the most would be 9 each 1 1/4 inch frames which would leave 1 1/4 inch gap leftover .