Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Any Beeks in the Gembrook Vic Area  (Read 3970 times)

Offline Steele-family

• New Bee
Any Beeks in the Gembrook Vic Area
« on: October 09, 2010, 05:06:12 am »
Hi All,
I'm new to beekeeping and hoping that there may be other beeks in my area that could help me out with some advice from time to time.

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
Re: Any Beeks in the Gembrook Vic Area
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2010, 03:18:23 pm »
Welcome to the hobby! You're in for a whole lot of fun! There's lots of guys on here from Melbourne who will be happy to help... I myself am from keilor... There's also phil and Pete from around Melbourne too! Nice guys... Feel free to ask any questions-someone will know the answer. How many hives do you have?

Offline Steele-family

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2010, 06:27:34 pm »
Thanks Ozzbuzz

I have been reading your posts.

Got my first hive a few weeks back and just waiting for a nuc I have ordered.
I'm tipping that it's going to addictive though I will try and keep it simple till I get a handle on the basics.

Thanks

Offline philinacoma

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2010, 10:08:44 pm »
Welcome! As OzBuzz said there are a few of us around Melbourne (and also around the world) who are very happy to give any advice/help you need. Most importantly, enjoy your bees!

What sort of bees do you have? How did you come by them?

Phil

Offline Steele-family

• New Bee
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2010, 10:29:01 pm »
Thanks Phil,
I currently have Italians, picked them up about 3weeks ago from a nice bloke in Surry Hills the queen is 12 months old so I guess I will have a year of learning before I re-queen. Seem to be a strong Hive and haven't had any fromblems when I open the hive up.so I'm hoping to get a bit of Honey this season. The Nuc is Italians also with a new queen though I'm not sure how long it will be before I get them. Hopefully not too long now though I'm hoping for so Honey.