Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Need Help, Very cold, snow, bees dying...  (Read 3820 times)

Offline Utah

• New Bee
Need Help, Very cold, snow, bees dying...
« on: January 24, 2007, 09:09:00 pm »
Yes, I am still learning. My hive is very light in weight, I assume the stores are past gone. There are hundreds of bees in the snow today and I have very cold days. I peeked inside and there are still lots of bees near the top. Temperatures are not even getting above freezing yet. Why are the bees flying in this very cold weather? I would guess no food or water?

So, what do I do for food with this cold? I can add syrup or honey if needed. Is there a better way? Or a better substitute? I assume I should not wait another day.

Please help, I need to do it tomorrow in the cold.

Utah

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Need Help, Very cold, snow, bees dying...
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 10:08:59 pm »
They usually won't take syrup if it's cold.  You could put a jar of warm syrup with small holes in the lid upside down over the cluster and a box to make room for it and a lid on top of that.  When the jar is right on the cluster, and the syrup is warm, they will take it.  You could warm the jar up every day for a while.  Another solution would be newspaper with dry sugar on it.

The right thing, of course, is to make sure they have sufficient stores back in the fall.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline pdmattox

• Queen Bee
    • October bend Rv Park
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 10:09:22 pm »
sugarboard?

I dont have experince with the sugar board method but there are others here that may be helpful.

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2007, 10:15:48 pm »