Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from a NewBee!  (Read 2411 times)

Offline Piper

• New Bee
Hello from a NewBee!
« on: April 21, 2006, 12:31:55 pm »
Hi all. Great forum, hope you don't mind a total beginner occasionally chiming in with silly questions! I may soon be acquiring a top bar hive, and am wanting to explore beekeeping in a hobby-capacity. Until I observe and study more, I don't feel comfortable yet with installing the bees myself, so have been reading up on trying to lure them with lemongrass oil. Am hoping to take a beginner beekeeping class and install a colony next yr.  Do you think this would be a good way to ease into beekeeping? I have a large yard, and have a spot that I think would be ideal.. it is near fruit trees and my herb garden. I still need to get some bee gear, and for that matter the hive isn't in my possession yet, but should be in a couple of weeks! I'm concerned about my family dog nosing about.. and can't seem to find much on family pets and bees, just predator animals. Anyhow, glad I found the forum and sure I will learn lots just from reading your prior posts! :D

Offline beemaster

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.
    • http://www.beemaster.com
Hello from a NewBee!
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2006, 01:47:00 pm »
Hi Piper....

Just catching up with all new posts and new members, it was nice to hear from you in PM and welcome aboard the forums.

We can all understand reluctance of handling bees for the first time - it can be intimidating when you are so highly out numbered especially by creature armed with venomous tips. But I promise, spending time just watching them do BEE STUFF as I like to call it will greatly aid you in your comfort level.