Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from Maine  (Read 2270 times)

Offline treeoflife

• New Bee
Hello from Maine
« on: December 30, 2009, 09:49:18 am »
This is my first year beekeeping and I love it. Got my first hive in May 09 and have had a great time, gaining a lot of experience my first season. The plan is to start two more hives in the spring. I love learning, so I'll be checking out the site on a regular basis. It's 7 degrees this morning in southern Maine. Brrrrr! My bees seem fine....I love hearing that steady huuummmmmm when I put my ear to the hive.  :-D
"We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." - Sir Winston Churchill

Offline fermentedhiker

• Field Bee
Re: Hello from Maine
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2009, 01:16:02 pm »
Welcome to the forum.  It's good to have another Maniac on board  :-D.  Update your location in your profile when you get a moment.  It will help people respond to your questions better if they understand where you're located.
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
--Douglas Adams

Offline treeoflife

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2009, 02:56:17 pm »
Thanks, and yes, it's nice to see another Maniac here. And apparently we aren't far from each other, so our temps, weather, types of bee forage, etc. will be quite similar. :-D

Do you know Rick Cooper?

"We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." - Sir Winston Churchill

Offline fermentedhiker

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2009, 04:02:01 pm »
No I don't know him, but I think I've heard his name mentioned before.  We should have fairly similar conditions weatherwise at least.
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
--Douglas Adams

Offline treeoflife

• New Bee