Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Honey Varietals Questions  (Read 1332 times)

Offline BigM

• New Bee
Honey Varietals Questions
« on: December 24, 2008, 10:18:56 am »
 I have read Their is 300 unique Honey types :

My question is ......  actually it's a three part question

1.  I'm curious to see what variety of Honey The Beekeeper members on this board bees produce in your Geographical Area ?
2. Is it correct that Bees produce different Honey during Spring, Summer, Autumn  ?
3. Since I'm from Illinois and Indiana is my Neighbor what is the typical honey variety bees produce in this Geographical area ?

I see alot of Honey labeled clover honey is that just a generic name if someone does not know the exact honey variety there hives produce ?  

Thanks for any replys I get and sorry for the multiple questions in succession  :)

Offline Keith13

• Super Bee
Re: Honey Varietals Questions
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2008, 10:29:56 am »
I'm new at this but I think Wildflower honey is what most end up with, at least for me. The bees unless they have a large crop will feed on many different types of nectar. A lot of large commercial guys can move there hives to the citrus, clover,  almond, etc. crop and by doing so are pretty sure where the honey is coming from. Also a lot of people on these forums are experienced enough to recognize the difference in honey by looking at it, I am not.

Hope this helps,

Keith

Offline mathispollenators

• House Bee
    • Mathis Apiaries
Re: Honey Varietals Questions
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2008, 12:52:13 pm »