Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Another hello from Arkansas  (Read 3102 times)

Offline qa33010

• Field Bee
Another hello from Arkansas
« on: June 29, 2005, 03:21:52 am »
Hi from White County,

Though I'm just starting out, I've been fascinated by bees since I was a youngster in Minnesota (knock-on-wood never been stung).  My wife, we met during Desert Storm when she was activated in the reserves, is excited that I have shown an interest in actually doing something (I'm crippled up a bit) and my kids can't wait.  One daughter and a son are with me soaking up the show on RFD-TV 'Year in the life of an apiary and all the info I've found here so far.  Since I get absent minded and sometimes "lose touch" reading the beemasters journal for 2001 was even more incentive (I had never thought of a journal) to go ahead.  I took your advise and have let my neighbors and their neighbors know that I will have a hive (funny thing, they all asked about the honey and when it will be ready).  Some of the kids in the area are a bit destructive though and that worrys me.  Does anyone have any ideas?  Like the master I have a very limited amount of space and have thought of multi color paint job or a partial enclosure to hide the hive(s).  Barb wire and electric fences are not an option and city code is extremely strict on privacy fencing.    Thanks!  David.
Everyone said it couldn't be done. But he with a chuckle replied, "I won't be one to say it is so, until I give it a try."  So he buckled right in with a trace of a grin.  If he had a worry he hid it and he started to sing as he tackled that thing that couldn't be done, and he did it.  (unknown)

Offline Miss Chick-a-BEE

• House Bee
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2005, 09:04:38 am »
Hmmm
It would sorta help to know the lay-out of your property and what you have to work with. From your discription, I'm thinking you live in one of those communities where the rules for "outdoor stuff" is really strict.