Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Dandelion Wine Time!!!  (Read 9482 times)

Offline Sean Kelly

• Field Bee
  • I Pick; Therefore I Grin
    • Sean's Facebook Page
Re: Dandelion Wine Time!!!
« Reply #20 on: May 06, 2007, 05:44:10 pm »
Just punch down the bag whenever you go past it- maybe rotate it once in awhile- Don't worry -It will be great!

I'm still pretty new to brewing, but shouldnt you be careful about air contact during fermantation?  My grandfather told me that there's a bacteria in the air that can screw up a batch of wine, turing it to vinegar.  So, shouldnt you just leave it be instead of touching it every once in a while?  Would it have been better to weight down the cheesecloth with a weight?

Cindi,
Yeah, those bugs are nasty!  Everytime we got bit or stung we would have a HUGE welt.  I'm thinking now that it had to be a sting for it to make such a mark.  Hurt like a sunofagun.  Never saw them in the horse traugh, but always in the kiddy pool, especially after we just filled it.  They must have really liked the super fresh water.

Sean
"My son,  eat  thou honey,  because it is good;  and the honeycomb,  which is sweet  to thy taste"          - Proverbs 24:13

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2007, 10:36:50 am »
Sean, OK now I have a new respect for the boatbug.  I have not met it personally and now I really do not want to.  I was always only teasing the kids when I told them to beware the maneater.  Now I really do need to keep on top of this nasty critter.  Yes, I bet they like your poor little kids' pool, nasties.  Best of a beautiful day, great life and great health wishes for all.  Cindi
There are strange things done in the midnight sun by the men who moil for gold.  The Arctic trails have their secret tales that would make your blood run cold.  The Northern Lights have seen queer sights, but the queerest they ever did see, what the night on the marge of Lake Lebarge, I cremated Sam McGee.  Robert Service

Offline MarkR