Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Super Paint  (Read 5286 times)

Offline chriso38

• New Bee
Super Paint
« on: September 27, 2011, 04:10:13 am »
Hi, I'm a newbie and have just started beekeeping. i live in north QLD and i just thought I'd put it out there to ask " what type of paint do the beek's use for their supers? oil based or water based? i have already painted two boxes with water based solar guard but the paint does not seem to go " rock hard"   any one else have this problem?   cheers  :-D

Offline Mardak

• House Bee
Re: Super Paint
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2011, 04:18:52 am »
Primer, undercoat and two coats of final acrylic based paints. Let the wood ware dry for about six weeks to get the smell out the wood ware. bees are very very sensitive to smells.

Offline yantabulla

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2011, 05:09:00 am »
I use anything on the mis-tints trolley at Bunnings.  Just make sure it is an exterior paint & preferably a light colour.

Offline Lone

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2011, 07:02:29 am »
Hello Chriso,

I used solarguard, I live in North Queensland and I'm also 38.  I hope that helps.

By the way, solarguard does have a 10 year guarantee against peeling flaking or blistering.

Lone

Offline prestonpaul

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2011, 07:52:15 am »
I use anything on the mis-tints trolley at Bunnings.  Just make sure it is an exterior paint & preferably a light colour.
Me too. I got a $68.00 dollar 4l can of Taubmans endure external paint for 20 bucks.
Got to be happy with that  :-D
Paul.

Offline squidink

• House Bee
    • www.bensbees.com.au
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2011, 08:16:58 am »
Hello Chriso,

I used solarguard, I live in North Queensland and I'm also 38.  I hope that helps.

By the way, solarguard does have a 10 year guarantee against peeling flaking or blistering.

Lone

Sounds like a great match there! Sorry Lone im 34 and live in Melbourne...