Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: First shot at Foundationless  (Read 2558 times)

Offline biggraham610

• Field Bee
First shot at Foundationless
« on: May 19, 2014, 05:39:44 am »
And Loving It!! G   :chop:

"The Bees are the Beekeepers"

Offline HomeSteadDreamer

• House Bee
Re: First shot at Foundationless
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 08:40:00 am »
I love my foundationless too.  Look like you are off to a good start.

Offline Better.to.Bee.than.not

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 09:29:20 am »
ya, I fell for the "Must buy lots of stuff, because buying stuff means I am doing something." aspect of beekeeping also when I first started. Now, I go foundation-less with starter strips, just to keep things straighter, and let the bees be bees. I will say though, that for new hives I still like using some foundation to get them going how I want, though.

Offline beesNme

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 10:03:34 am »
looks like they are doing great, i am just starting out so i will show my bees your pics  :-D

Offline Spear

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2014, 12:55:01 pm »
Don't really want to hijack the thread however I have a related question.
When going foundationles could I just put wired frames in the hive and the girls will use the wires as a guide for building or will I still need the starter strip to show them the way?
I did put 1 empty (no wires or foundation) frame in one of my supers with no starter strip and the girls build the comb from the edge of the top bar. If I hadn't removed the wires would they of started in the middle of the frame?  :?

Offline Evan W

• New Bee
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2014, 01:19:31 pm »
In my experience unless you put a starter strip the comb will be centered anywhere on the top bar. You will need more than just wires for the bees to get it centered on bar.

Offline biggraham610

• Field Bee
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2014, 01:37:09 pm »
Don't really want to hijack the thread however I have a related question.