Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hey Finsky, I'd Like A Skeptic's Opinion (You Fit The Bill)  (Read 5554 times)

Offline ndvan

• House Bee
Hey Finsky, I'd Like A Skeptic's Opinion (You Fit The Bill)
« on: March 02, 2007, 07:20:32 pm »
Here's my question for Finsky or anybody else. 

I'm just starting out.  This is my plan: I'm getting small cell bees (already regressed) and I'm going to use small cell foundation.  I also am planning on monitoring mite levels on a regular basis.  If I determine that I've got a mite problem, such as a high mite drop or sudden increase, I'll go to plan B and treat for mites.

As far as cost goes, I think I paid about $5 more for foundation, and about $20 more each for 2 small cell nucs.  However, I have been told by many that the source for the bees is a good source, so I can live with that too. 

Aside from that, is the any real downside to using the small cell?  What is it? I'm not trying to be argumentative.  I'm seriously asking to see if there's something I've not considered. 

Thanks,

ndvan

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Hey Finsky, I'd Like A Skeptic's Opinion (You Fit The Bill)
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2007, 08:47:32 pm »
>I'm just starting out.  This is my plan: I'm getting small cell bees (already regressed) and I'm going to use small cell foundation.

I think that's a great idea.  Finsky will not.

> I also am planning on monitoring mite levels on a regular basis. 

I think that's also a great idea.  Finsky will not.  He thinks you just treat every fall and never monitor, but then he's not trying NOT treating.

>If I determine that I've got a mite problem, such as a high mite drop or sudden increase, I'll go to plan B and treat for mites.

And plan B is what?

>As far as cost goes, I think I paid about $5 more for foundation, and about $20 more each for 2 small cell nucs.  However, I have been told by many that the source for the bees is a good source, so I can live with that too.