Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: beesness as usual?  (Read 3758 times)

Offline JRS

• House Bee
beesness as usual?
« on: January 28, 2007, 06:16:06 pm »
Im new to keeping and i know that temp. has a role to play,im in louisiana and we have such a diverse range in temp. like this week alone it was low 50 high 60 one day end of the week mid 20 high 50.i think the bees dont fly unless its in the 57 range? if it is a mild temp sunny  plenty water is it ok to work the hive and how much is to much?
The only stupid question is the question unasked,thanx for the help.

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: beesness as usual?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2007, 07:33:46 pm »
>i think the bees dont fly unless its in the 57 range?

I see mine flying well below 50 F.  The Italians didn't but the feral stock does.  They will do a cleansing flight in the mid to low fourties.  They will forage around 47 F or so on a calm sunny day.

My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline JRS

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2007, 07:57:07 pm »
ok well what about working with them?

Offline Kirk-o

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2007, 08:28:06 pm »
My Bees are Feral and they stay busy at tempatures similar to what Michael said.I don't work with them unless it is alot warmer
kirk-o
"It's not about Honey it's not about Money It's about SURVIVAL" Charles Martin Simmon

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2007, 09:58:18 pm »
I might open the top and peek in or put on a pollen patty when it's 32 F or so.  But I wouldn't pull brood frames out unless it's warm enough for them to fly and then I wouldn't keep them out long unless it's at least 60 F or so and preferably 70 F or so.