Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Tricky questions about new queenless hive?  (Read 3194 times)

Offline jpryce

• New Bee
Tricky questions about new queenless hive?
« on: March 27, 2010, 03:16:25 pm »
I've been helping a beekeeper for a few months with her hives so I can learn before I get my own hives.  I'm beginning this spring with my first 2 hives- 1 package and 1 nuc. 

I went a few weeks ago(March 14) with the beekeeper to split one of her booming hives before it swarmed.  There are 2 hives placed on a deck next to each other.  The hive we were splitting is testy.  The hive was one deep and 3 mediums with brood in the bottom three boxes.  We found the queen and put her and 5 frames of brood in another box and readied it for the drive home(about 40 minute drive).  We left the hive with what appeared to be a few beginnings of queen cells.  None of them were capped or fully developed.

The hive is located at a small local organic farm and unfortunately was originally placed in a area where people have a walking path.  The person who owns the farm said the hive was really mad for a few days after we split the hive and had stung a few people and the dogs.

This is where I have the questions and it gets a bit tricky for me.

The beekeeper has decided to completely remove the hive and want to give me the half that's still up at the farm. We are picking it up tonight.  She has the old queen(1 year old) with the original hive at her house but plans on re queening on April 8(her new queen arrives)  She asked if I want the old queen but she said she can't give me the old queen til April 6( the day she was going to kill it)