Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Passing Up Blooms  (Read 1833 times)

Offline Tom K-B

• New Bee
Passing Up Blooms
« on: April 23, 2013, 11:50:25 pm »
This is my first year as a beek. We have two Crab Apples in our front yard. They bloomed weekend before last. As I stood under them that first weekend there were so many bees in those blooms, I could almost feel the buzzing. Everywhere I look there were bees, bees and more bees. It's now about ten days later and most of the blooms have fallen off. But there are still quite a few blooms still left. However, there haven't been any bees in them for several days. My wife says they haven't been there since it rained late last week. I'm assuming if there were pollen or nectar to be harvested, the bees would still be there. Will the rain wash it out? Or did the bees clean it out so quickly?

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Passing Up Blooms
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 11:55:20 pm »
a couple of things.  one is that they will pass up blooms on one thing if they find something else they like better.  look around to see what else is blooming in your area.

another is that they tend to hit different things at different times of the day.  it might be apples in the AM and clover in the PM with some dandelions in between.  it takes a lot of watching to figure it out, but it's fun to see what they go after.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline capt44

• Field Bee
  • If it don't work I'll always think it should have
    • RV BEES
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 12:41:26 am »
A bee has a mind of it's own.
Like was said they will fly to whatever they like best.
I've set hives on a field of white clover, looked like snow.
But the bees flew over it and went somewhere else.
But then one day I looked and they were all over it.
The bees know what bloom is in it's prime.
draw a straight line from your hives location on a map 2 miles.