Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Where did I go wrong with my home made beer?  (Read 4522 times)

Offline Sean Kelly

• Field Bee
  • I Pick; Therefore I Grin
    • Sean's Facebook Page
Where did I go wrong with my home made beer?
« on: November 10, 2008, 11:13:49 pm »
Any home brewers out there?  I need some help...

I've been making wine and meads for a couple years now and decided to try my hand at beer.  Everything seemed to go perfectly right through bottling day.  I'm not set up for forced carbonation, so bottle conditioning was my only choice.  I went with "Muttons Carb Tabs" instead of priming sugar since it seemed pretty fool proof.  I guess I was wrong.

The package says carbonation takes 1 week.  After one week opened a bottle and nothing.  Two weeks, nothing.  Three weeks, nothing.  I have flat beer.  Tastes good.  There are also waxy chunks suspended in the beer that seem sorta weird.  No off flavors, smells, or color.  All looks perfect and actually tastes really good.  I just wish I knew what happened to the yeast and why it didn't like my carb tabs.

Anyone ever try priming beer or sparkling wine with honey?  I've heard it can be done but never tried it.  Does it leave any honey flavors behind or will it all get consumed by the yeast?

Sean Kelly
"My son,  eat  thou honey,  because it is good;  and the honeycomb,  which is sweet  to thy taste"          - Proverbs 24:13

Offline HomeBru

• House Bee
    • Drew Family Farms
Re: Where did I go wrong with my home made beer?
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 11:51:34 am »
I've never used carb tabs. I always prime with corn sugar and it usually works fine. You should be able to re-bottle with corn sugar and get it carbonated.