Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Thinking about grafting  (Read 5353 times)

Offline Donovan J

• House Bee
Re: Thinking about grafting
« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2020, 07:03:55 pm »
Xerox, as far as grafting tools are concerned, HP recommends the Chinese grafting tool,  My favorite is the JZBZ tool.   The grafting tools are cheap, I can make any tool work, it is a matter of personal preference.

I do service the lip of my JZBZ tool as well as the German grafting tool.  I find the lip on each tool to be to thick, so I carefully sand down and hand polish the lip.  This step is not necessary, I just have fun critiquing the tools.  I use a stereo microscope for everything.  Picking larva, placing larva, polishing tools, and examining the brood.  Again not necessary but as a hobbyist I have the time and enjoy the experience.

Friends use the jewelers head band which seems to work very well also as the large magnifying lens type lamp that magnify and light all in one small lamp.

On a small scale as I, grafting is just plain ol dog gone fun it is.  success improves with each grafting attempt as you learn to coordinate your actions smoothly.  Before long, grafting is a piece of cake.

The little things help improve success:
-Picking correct age larva
-Heating pad placed under grafting frame and cups to prevent chill.
-Clean everything, clean working table.
-Fresh royal jelly from a queen cell in your bee yard, to wet graft.
-An incubator comes in handy to warm equipment, cups, although I prefer a hive for hatching with roller caged as HP suggest.
-remember the just hatched larva is already 3 days old, so adjust calander.
-can?t have to many nurse bees; either use cloak board or separate cell starter finisher for the grafts.
-use hair roller cage after cell is capped to isolate/protect the new queens
-nicot offers a complete line of cups, holders, frame attachments, even egg cage if you go that route.  Note some queens will not accept laying cage.