Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Russian VS European  (Read 5491 times)

Offline Shawn

• Queen Bee
Russian VS European
« on: September 13, 2007, 05:38:28 pm »
Due to I am new to bee keeping and have not yet purchased or captured any bees I was wondering if I could buy Russian bees. I have seen there is a program in LA offering Russian queens at $100.00 each. Can you buy a package of Rusian Bees? I have not seen any good articles about requeening Russians into European bees. I know it has been done but with both success and the queen being killed. My thought on buying Russian bees is for the mite resitance. A friend here has European bees so the honey production is not my goal. I am doing this as a hobby and as far as I know, no one else around here has any russian bees. I have seen some black and gray colored bees in the area, thinking they are Russina. One was in my patrol car the other day with her legs full of pollen. Before I started getting interested in bees I would have smashed her on the window. I opened hte door and gently shewed her out, not even getting stung. My son will be getting european bees and keeping them in the same yard area. WOuld this be a concern? Im just puting this post out fishing for some advise.

Thanks

Offline TwT

• Senior Forum
  • Galactic Bee
  • Ted
Re: Russian VS European
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2007, 05:58:07 pm »
you dont need to buy a $100 queen, those are breeder queens, if you want russian packages buy from a supplier that sale russian open mated, it want bother anything putting a riussian hive in the same yard as italians or any other line of bee's.... here is a list of suppliers

http://www.beesource.com/suppliers/usbees.htm
THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 MONTHS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,
Professionals built the Titanic

Offline Shawn

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2007, 10:09:29 pm »
TWT,

Thanks for the reply. Is there someone that you recommend?