Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Very sick hive - what is it, how did it happen?  (Read 3047 times)

Offline thevoice

• New Bee
Very sick hive - what is it, how did it happen?
« on: January 23, 2009, 11:48:38 pm »
I have a very sick hive.  I'm quite new to beekeeping, but I've managed to work that much out.

It has ants, grubs and cobwebs, but very, very few bees.  I've had some concerns about it for a while, see http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/topic,18968.msg142091.html  for an old post on that, but it hasn't until now been so clear (to a newbie like me, at least) that the hive is in a really bad way.

I've attached some photos of the hive below, I'd appreciate it if someone more knowledgeable than me could have a look and hazard a guess as to what the initial problem may have been and what may have caused it.
http://greygum.net/bees/web/

Also, what should I do with the hive now?

Cheers
« Last Edit: January 24, 2009, 07:25:22 am by buzzbee »

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Very sick hive - what is it, how did it happen?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2009, 11:59:19 pm »
looks like maybe you went queenless, or the majority of the hive swarmed.  wax moth.  drone cells (?)  looks like one might have been an attempt at a queen cell but the angle is wrong.  looks like there might have been one poor quality  queen cell.

the short answer is that your numbers got so low that they couldn't maintain the hive.  stuff moved in.   

there is still honey, so you can rule out starvation.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline tlynn

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2009, 12:05:16 am »