Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: sticky fingers and palms...  (Read 2519 times)

Offline joker1656

• House Bee
sticky fingers and palms...
« on: April 28, 2010, 10:08:14 am »
Any suggestions for getting propolis and other gunk off of your hands after pulling frames etc.?  I usually wear some latex gloves to avoid it, but that is just annoying.  Usually when I do anything bare-handed I have major stains for a week or two.  Just prefer to not constantly explain to co-workers or clients what is smeared on my palms and fingers. 
"Fear not the night.  Fear that which walks the night.  I am that which walks the night, BUT only EVIL need fear me..."-Lt. Col. David Grossman

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: sticky fingers and palms...
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2010, 10:14:27 am »
I have been a mechanic all my life. I thought the hand color difference was just natural.   :?   :roll:
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline Bee Happy

• Super Bee
  • that's me - setting a phoenix free
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2010, 12:39:41 pm »
Oil, like cooking oil, followed by soap. I'm figuring a tree sap product will dissolve in oil. - rubbing alcohol might dissolve it too. (let me know)
be happy and make others happy.

Offline Scadsobees

• Galactic Bee
  • Best use of smileys in a post award.
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2010, 01:26:37 pm »
I don't usually get a lot on my hands, but when I do a little nail-polish remover (acetone) will do the trick.  Mineral spirits do too but smell a lot worse.
Rick

Offline msully

• New Bee
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2010, 03:52:40 pm »
Rubbing alcohol in a spray bottle does a great job cleaning off propolis.  I wouldn't go into the hives without it!!

Mike
"Indecision may or may not be my problem" Jimmy Buffett

Offline beek4018

• House Bee