Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Yet another "possibly dead hive" question  (Read 4681 times)

Offline Linda G

• New Bee
Yet another "possibly dead hive" question
« on: October 27, 2010, 04:19:33 pm »
Bear with me, I am new at this.
We started with a purchased box of bees in April and hive was doing great.  Since we are new, we checked on them about every one to two weeks.  Saw no problems.

Here in the Santa Clara Valley, San Jose, CA we had decent weather until about one week ago.  We extracted honey - two medium supers on October 15 and bees still seemed normal. 

Since extraction, noticed signs of robbing and yellow jackets entering hive.  We closed the entrance to one - two bee size and still saw robbing and yellow jackets.  We closed the hive entrance completely and opened it for one hour at sundown to allow the bees to fly.  Every day we opened it, there were piles of dead bees at entrance along with debris from comb and some dead yellow jackets.   

On Monday, October 25 we opened the hive to inspect the brood chambers and found the bottom chamber virtually empty.  The top brood chamber has seven frames with brood, honey and bees.  We did not see the queen or eggs.  Since monday, each day has more dead bees when we open the entrance and we are pretty sure this hive is a goner.  So, my questions are:

What do we do to save the frames with comb so that we can start up new in the spring?
What do we do with the honey supers that they did not clean up - they still have honey on them from the extraction?
The frames in the upper brood chamber still have some brood and honey - what do we do with that?
We are concerned about wax moth - what do we use to prevent that?

We only have the one hive, so combining is not an option and while we are not sure what happened, it is probably beekeeper error that stimulated robbing that killed off our hive.

Thanks in advance for any help.   Linda

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Yet another "possibly dead hive" question