Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Two hives two races of Bees good idea?  (Read 1754 times)

Offline labradorfarms

• House Bee
Two hives two races of Bees good idea?
« on: December 19, 2013, 05:06:53 pm »
I am new to BK and wanted to know if a New Guy should start out with 2 races of Bees? I was thinking of one Russian Queened and 1 Italian Queened.
Or should I just stick to one Race?

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: Two hives two races of Bees good idea?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2013, 05:17:33 pm »
You should buy 2 of the strongest nucs you can find for the money. They will requeen almost every year. When you buy them, they are open bred, so the bees you get are only 50/50. Then the first new queen will only produce 25/75. You will have mutts in a couple years, so why spend more money now. Just buy mutts.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Moots

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2013, 07:01:20 pm »
You should buy 2 of the strongest nucs you can find for the money. They will requeen almost every year. When you buy them, they are open bred, so the bees you get are only 50/50. Then the first new queen will only produce 25/75. You will have mutts in a couple years, so why spend more money now. Just buy mutts.

I'd agree with what iddee is saying...When I started researching getting into beekeeping a little over a year ago, I initially thought deciding on a race of bees was a big important decision.  However, everyone started offering the type of advice that iddee is giving here.  I bought two Nucs of survivor stock mutts and have grown to 10 hives through their swarming, catching other swarms, and cutouts.

Couldn't be happier with my bees...I love my mutts!  :-D   

Offline rwlaw

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2013, 09:23:43 pm »