Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: festooning over queen cage  (Read 3651 times)

Offline beedad

• House Bee
festooning over queen cage
« on: April 27, 2009, 07:05:29 pm »
this is my first time with top bar.  i installed a package and stapled the queen cage to one of the sides.  now two out of three pounds of bees are building comb over the cage.  should i smoke them away so that i can free the queen and stop the crazy comb building?

Offline RyanB

• House Bee
Re: festooning over queen cage
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2009, 07:47:02 pm »
stapled? Sounds violent. Yikes.  What I did was hang the queen cage from a top bar with thin flexable wire. This way it would swing around and 'hopefully' deter the bee's from building comb around it. Well, it seems to have worked as when I went in 3 days later the bee's had not built comb on the cage and they had released her just fine.
Currently Fermenting:

Cherry Melomel - 1Gal
Pear Melomel - 1Gal
White Pyment - 1Gal
Root Beer Mead - 1Gal
Mead Cyser - 5Gal

Recently Finished:
Sack Mead - 1Gal, Very Good!
Braggot - 1Gal, Very popular!
Mead Cyser - 1Gal, Wifes Fav!
JAO - 1Gal, Nice, A bit too sweet.

Offline beedad

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2009, 08:06:24 pm »
the queen cage had a piece of metal on it to hang it between frames, so i stapled that to the side.  seemed like a good idea at the time.  i dont mind being stung to much but thats alot of bees to stick my hand into, to get the cage out.  should smoking them out be fine?

Offline RyanB

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2009, 12:40:48 pm »
My understanding is you do not want to directly smoke the queen.  I would gently use a bee brush to get them off the comb/cage and then pull it out of there. If it is new comb it should come away fairly easilly. Probably not a bad idea to cut away all the crazy comb so it doesnt affect future bars.
Currently Fermenting:

Cherry Melomel - 1Gal
Pear Melomel - 1Gal
White Pyment - 1Gal
Root Beer Mead - 1Gal
Mead Cyser - 5Gal