Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Weak Hive  (Read 1538 times)

Offline Waveeater

• House Bee
Weak Hive
« on: July 07, 2016, 05:18:17 pm »
 I had a hive get punished by wax moth so i was forced to push the remaining bees into one medium supper with clean frames. (NO Moths). I introduced a new mated queen and she has laid some eggs but spotty and not nearly enough.  Just after she was introduced i found them acting very sluggish and some had died. I think this was due to a lack of food. I gave them another frame of capped brood and some stores and this seemed to pick them up however there are currently only enough bees in the hive to cover a couple of frames. This is my first time dealing with this type of situation so i am curious as towhat some of you more experienced beekeepers think.

Do you think this is a problem with the queen not being properly mated?
Not enough nurse and worker bees in the hive so she has slowed down?
Normal for this time of year due to lack of Flow?
Damaged her due to almost starving?

Thank you for any advice

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Weak Hive
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2016, 07:07:17 pm »
Hard to help when we have no idea where you are located. This site includes members from all over the globe. What is happening where I am is totally different from you if you are in Australia.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Waveeater

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2016, 11:19:25 pm »
That certainly would help wouldn't it. I'm in the piedmont area of North Carolina.

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2016, 08:32:49 am »
Waveeater. first all - Welcome.