Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Madison, IN.  (Read 2614 times)

Offline uridead

• Brood
Greetings from Madison, IN.
« on: September 10, 2012, 02:34:10 pm »
Extreme noob here from southern Indiana. No veil, no tools, no bees....  :shock:  I'm a freelance beekeeper wanna-bee here.

Picked up some hive pieces and parts here and there (mostly free), bought a couple supers with frames and foundations. I do volunteer cemetery work and found a nice bee tree on the edge of one Thursday and built a five frame nuc box this weekend with the intent of trying to entice the colony into the hive so I can slam the door shut behind them. So I'm just getting started with making the many mistakes required in an attempt of getting a couple hives up and going by this spring. Been putting off this as a hobby for far too many years.  Love honey, love bees, time to make it a reality! (did you know that if you fat finger the word honey, you could spell hiney?)

Anyway that's my shout-out to all the other noobs and seasoned keepers alike. Will be lurking and reading mostly but will certainly pop up with the occasional questions for sure. I ain't shy.  ;)

Offline Joe D

• Super Bee
Re: Greetings from Madison, IN.
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2012, 03:35:04 pm »
You may want to wait until spring, especially if they have been in the tree for a good while.  Good luck

Joe

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2012, 05:40:36 pm »
Welcome to the forum and you may want to search trap out on the forum here.

Offline indypartridge

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2012, 08:07:00 am »
Hello and Welcome!

I'm sure you'll find this forum to be a good site to learn more about bees and beekeeping.

I'd like to encourage you to get involved with a local club. Clubs often offer beginning beekeeping classes, and are great places to find mentors and get connected to nearby beekeepers. There's a Spring Valley club down your way: