Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New-Bee Learning in Saskatchewan  (Read 1912 times)

Offline Silverman

• New Bee
New-Bee Learning in Saskatchewan
« on: February 17, 2012, 03:40:38 am »
Hi Kids ( and all the wannabe kids )  :-D

30 second intro..

I'm Shlomo Silverman in Grenfell SK Canada, live on 12 acres surrounded by alfalfa pastures. I'm 52 yrs young, and work off farm as a tradesman in the underground mining industry.
 On the farm I raise Dexter hand milking cows, my Good Wife Shoshi tends the chooks for eggs and meat for us, and we are jointly developing 3 acres of market gardens ( Zone 2B), a 1/2 acre hops field and a 1 acre U-pick berry patch. I studied horticulture/ arboricuture in a previous career.

I eat Kosher/Organic where possible and I'm a heck of a good cook and meatcutter/sausage maker with suitable facilities to do so.

I'm quite knowledgeable about solar power, LED lighting and "alternate" energy mostly to reduce our personal consumption of grid utilities (to try to save what little pension money when and if I ever have any).

I spend a good deal of time at Torah study, and in the winter, I cut gemstones and make shiny metal things that women like. We are currently renovating the bathroom in the house.. I dislike plumbing and barn roofing...

I was introduced to beekeeping in about 1984, and knew I wanted to do this back then... it took a long circuitous route to get there, kids had to grow up, life had to settle down... but I may have the makings of a nice operation showing up here with all the alfalfa fields around us, and my ability to focus and spend some time developing....

On to bees.. the big topic here is cleaning old wooden-ware...