Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hi, I'm pollenchucker  (Read 2308 times)

Offline pollenchucker

• House Bee
  • 42 days and their wings fall off, eh?
Hi, I'm pollenchucker
« on: February 21, 2009, 06:02:57 pm »
I'm just getting started in planning my hive as well as trying to figure out what plants I can add to our environment to help the bees through the rough times.  I live on 200 acres in the sandhills of N.C. but summer can be brutal so I am going to be looking for help in that respect as well.  I will be getting my bees in April from a local activist beekeeper and educator.  I only plan to start with 1 hive but could be persuaded into to doing 2.  I'd rather not kill too many bees on my first go round.  Hopefully I'll be able to move up from there.
Nice to meet you all.
-pollenchucker

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: Hi, I'm pollenchucker
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2009, 06:25:20 pm »
Welcome....I am just north of you.

As for summer, don't worry about it. Put the bees in full sunlight at least until 5 PM. The small hive beetle loves shade, the bees can manage the heat just fine if they have a water source.

Do yourself a favor and get two hives. You may find that one saves the other and you wind up with two or more, rather than none.

PS, put your nearest town, and state, in your profile. Otherwise, no one can answer your questions when climate has so much to do with beekeeping.
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline pollenchucker

• House Bee
  • 42 days and their wings fall off, eh?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2009, 06:44:38 pm »