Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How often is too often?  (Read 2970 times)

Offline ziffabeek

• House Bee
How often is too often?
« on: July 06, 2009, 05:24:51 pm »
Hello,

I'm really new to beekeeping and very excited about it.  I have the sweetest bees that let me sit right in front of the hive in the morning and drink my tea with them.  The hive is a combination of 2 hives, one that didn't have a queen, added to another hive using the newspaper dividing thing.  (The lady I got the hive from did this not me.)  They seem really happy and  I see them coming in with big orange legs all of the time.  They were bearding an awful lot during the heat wave we just had, and you could smell the warm honey, so I propped up the top cover just a little and that seems to help.  The hive just seems packed in the evenings and I worry about crowding.

My question is, how often is too often to look inside the hive?  My fiance says I bug them too much and I should just leave them alone.  The lady I got them from came over about 2 weeks ago (which was about 2 weeks after we moved the hive to my yard) and we had to take both chambers off and flip the bottom board over, cause it was on wrong.  That also helped with the bearding.  She saw eggs at that time and they had pulled all but 4 frames in the top chamber (which seems to be all honey even tho it is a brood chamber from the unqueened hive).  But it's been 2 weeks, and the smell of  honey is really strong and yesterday the bees were flying in a cloud around the hive (which I hadn't seen them do before) and I'm worried they're out of room, but afraid to bother them by looking in if its been too soon.

So, how often is too often?

Thanks!

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: How often is too often?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 05:41:16 pm »
as often as you need to look is ok.  :-)