Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Fall Garden  (Read 5543 times)

Offline thomashton

• House Bee
Fall Garden
« on: September 11, 2008, 02:04:00 pm »
Anyone here plant a fall garden?

This is my first time other than overwintering garlic, flower bulbs, and trees. On saturday I planted carrots, chives, mesculin, lettuce, spinach, radishes, and beets. We've had beautiful weather so far and as of last night in 4 days pretty much everything has sprouted up. I'm going to have to thin soon. This is really encouraging as I didn't get a garden in this summer due to being gone several months with the Army. I can't wait. Hope I have enough time. I should.
After 18 months of reading and preparation, my girls finally arrived on April 11th (2006)!

Offline KONASDAD

• Super Bee
Re: Fall Garden
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2008, 05:05:17 pm »
you can definitely eat the lettuces no matter their size.
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Offline Inquisitive

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2008, 01:18:14 am »
I am inspired to do so.  Just finished reading "Four-Season Harvest" by Eliot Coleman and I am enthused.  I can put onion bulbs & garlic cloves into the ground tomorrow, but I'll have to look around for some chard, parsley, peas and turnip seeds.  Thanks for bringing up this topic.  Keep us posted, please!  :)  The book also said dandelion and mizuna would be good to plant now, but I'm not familiar with eating them.

Offline HomeBru

• House Bee
    • Drew Family Farms
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2008, 09:26:01 pm »
I started Kale and Broccoli early september and we're eating off of them now! We had a light freeze and the kale especially turned super sweet! We have carrots in the ground to overwinter and a lot of cabbage to finish off. Just waiting for the time to put a batch of 'kraut up.