Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Breeding queens to cage rather than put the cells in a nuc  (Read 3834 times)

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
Breeding queens to cage rather than put the cells in a nuc
« on: March 05, 2010, 05:04:50 am »
Hey Everybody,

I'm kinda new to the world of beekeeping - i had three hives about fifteen years ago and they were successful but i was a young guy then and, well you know what teenagers attention spans are like. Needless to say my hives swarmed and died out... now i'm older and supposedly wiser and i want to get back in to it again with some Kangaroo Island Ligurians (just in case you're wondering i'm in Australia). So i have a question about queen breeding for cageing...

I undertsand the principle of breeding queens to make nuc hives or to re-queen... set up a nuc hive, graft some larvae in to queen cups, pu the grafted cups back in to the hive from which the brood came for a day or so, move them to the nuc that has no queen, put some workers, brood, honey etc in there. Then, close to hatching time, take the extra cells and put them in other queenless nucs and leave one in the original queenless nuc (if i have that wrong please let me know).

BUT, what about when you're breeding queens to cage? I mean if the timing is wrong one will come out and destroy the others - so how do they do it? Is it all about the timing? or is there some special technique?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Breeding queens to cage rather than put the cells in a nuc
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2010, 08:22:04 am »
Is it all about the timing? or is there some special technique?

Pretty much timing,  or you can put the cells in roller cages before they hatch.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2010, 06:28:04 pm »