Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Fellow Alabamians! What size boxes and how many?  (Read 2713 times)

Offline Matt J

• House Bee
Fellow Alabamians! What size boxes and how many?
« on: August 19, 2016, 03:51:39 pm »
This is my first year, and my first 2 hives are all mediums.  I decided I think I want to try some hives next year with deep brood boxes.  Mainly I want to experiment with the 2 different types of hives and see which one works best for me and my area.  I am in the Birmingham area.  My question is, in Alabama, do y'all run 2 deep brood boxes?  I know some use a single deep and a medium.  Are there any advantages to running 2 deeps (which seems better to me)?  Are 2 deeps even necessary here?  And how will 2 deeps vs a deep and a medium effect honey production?  My mantra is to let the queen have as much room to lay as she wishes.  Thanks for any help.

Matt

Offline bwallace23350

• Super Bee
Re: Fellow Alabamians! What size boxes and how many?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2016, 04:12:29 pm »
This is also my first year. I have two deeps and am probably putting on honey supers next week

Offline Groundhawg

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2016, 01:02:47 am »
This is my first year as a beekeeper and so far my three hives have done well despite my mistakes.  I started with 3 nucs the first of April.  I am using 8 frame equipment and within 3 weeks added a 2nd deep to each hive and by mid-July had 3 medium supers on each hive.  Extracted 15 frames (8 in one super and 7 from the second) from each hive and a total of 140 pounds of honey from all three hives the last week of July. Have left the 3rd super which had 3 to 5 frames of honey but only 2 or 3 frames capped on each hive.