Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Dirty coating on duck eggs  (Read 9784 times)

Offline Sean Kelly

• Field Bee
  • I Pick; Therefore I Grin
    • Sean's Facebook Page
Dirty coating on duck eggs
« on: October 22, 2011, 08:18:34 pm »
Hey guys!
Our Peking duck finally started laying today (2 eggs!) and this is my first time dealing with duck eggs.  Are they supposed to have a dirty film covering the egg?  Our duck lives with our chickens and we just wanna make sure the eggs are the ducks and not from a sick hen.  They're definitely a little longer in shape and bright white under the waxy film, unlike the barred rock's eggs which are brown with no coating.

Thanks!  You guys rock!

Sean Kelly
"My son,  eat  thou honey,  because it is good;  and the honeycomb,  which is sweet  to thy taste"          - Proverbs 24:13

Offline VolunteerK9

• Super Bee
  • Gamecock fan in UT land.
Re: Dirty coating on duck eggs
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 08:45:21 pm »
Yeah, thats normal-but fair warning, if you decide to eat them they taste like mud

Offline Sean Kelly

• Field Bee
  • I Pick; Therefore I Grin
    • Sean's Facebook Page
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2011, 02:10:36 pm »
Yeah, thats normal-but fair warning, if you decide to eat them they taste like mud

Most definitely do not taste like mud. So far she's laid almost a dozen and I've been having either a fried or hard boiled every morning.  We even made brownies with one a couple weeks ago which turned out fantastic.  They taste just like a chicken egg, but with a little more yolk and quite a bit richer.  I'm liking duck eggs almost more than chicken eggs now.  Might have to buy a few more ducklings come springtime!

Sean Kelly
"My son,  eat  thou honey,  because it is good;  and the honeycomb,  which is sweet  to thy taste"          - Proverbs 24:13

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2011, 04:51:47 pm »