Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Red River Co. Tx.  (Read 2863 times)

Offline beehaven

• Brood
Greetings from Red River Co. Tx.
« on: December 16, 2008, 02:24:18 pm »
Hello All.

My name is Billy and I am a former Electro/Mechanical Engineer from Dallas. I was givin a small farm house that my grandfather built after WW2 that sits on about 80 acres of mostly wooded land in Bagwell Tx. Its about 11 miles south of the Ok border. I do not hunt, but there are lots of deer and turkey. Also the human population of this area has seriously declined over the last 10 years and now black bears and wolves have been caught on wildlife cameras. I havent actually seen them, but I have seen the tracks and pictures of them. I am happy to see that they are moving back in. I have been working on the house now for 5 years in my spare time trying to get it livable again, It sat empty for a long time. The idea of beekeeping was presented to me by my friend a few years ago, and now that I have been laid off for the 3rd time in my short career, I am only 38, I have decided to swim against the current and jump into my farm full time. Also when I found that there is a Dadant branch in Paris, about 30 min away, I took it as a sign and that pretty much sealed the deal. Although now I am making most o my own boxes, I knew that I bought all that woodworking equipment for something.  :-P I always knew that I would do something with this land, I have a huge garden every year that produces a lot of okra, squash and peppers, but I think that this year along with that, beekeeping will become the main focus. I know that I will not get rich, but that is not what I am trying to do. I just want to work my farm and be happy. Most of my questions have already been answered on this forum, so I may not post many, but I will try to chime in now and then. Thank you all for being here.

Billy

Offline annette

• Galactic Bee
Re: Greetings from Red River Co. Tx.