Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hive Top Feeders: Who likes them ???  (Read 17345 times)

Offline BeeHopper

• Queen Bee
Hive Top Feeders: Who likes them ???
« on: May 07, 2006, 12:45:57 pm »
I have the styrofoam types, easy to use and I thought the world of them......until the inspections started. Wow, what a pain getting the girls off the bottom side so that I can set the feeder on the ground ( looks like a 2 beek job, one to hold the feeder and the other to brush them off). Smoking them does not work because they spread out and crushing them becomes a concern.Well, it looks like I will explore the other options in feeders. I have no experience with the other types. Anyone else experiencing similar situations ??

Offline randydrivesabus

• Queen Bee
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2006, 01:23:45 pm »
i've been using inverted jars...they hold 2 qts a piece and i drilled 1/16th holes in the lids (5 or 6 holes). so i use one per hive set over the hole in the inner cover. when i remove them i ask the bees to please fly off of the jars while i tap the jars on the ground. so far they have listened well.

i'm not completely sure of what you are using but maybe theres a way to suspend it between a couple of pieces of wood while you inspect?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 02:27:13 pm »
Who likes them? - The dealers that get $50 a pop for them.

I'm with Randy.  In my opinion the best feeder is the inverted glass jar.  The price is right and they come in many sizes :wink: They work better in colder weather because the bees can cluster right up to the jar.  To inspect, I just turn the jar right side up and set it on the top of the hive next to it.

I guess the bee equipment dealers wouldn't make too much profit off of selling jars,  so they needed to invent something that would make people think they need a "real" bee feeder.