Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New Hive  (Read 3514 times)

Offline DeeBee711

• New Bee
New Hive
« on: August 22, 2011, 10:45:21 am »
I am new to beekeeping but I transferred a swarm into a box in May. The swarm was previously in a piece of farm machinery so I had to disect it and placed some honeycomb with brood etc into the bee box along side of the frames. I used a ten frame box and had eight frames in the box beside the honeycomb. The transfer of bees was a success and I have fed them sugar water on several occasions to aid in the building of comb and to help sustain them through the winter. They soon began building combs on two of the frames but progress seems quite slow. The bees have been quite active for the last couple of weeks with the onset of spring weather and a proliferation of flowers. Despite this, I checked the bees last weekend and they still have only managed to build comb on two of the 8 frames in the box. They have been in this box for about 4 months. Should they have progressed more than this by now? Do I just need to be patient or is there anything else that I need to do?

Offline mikecva

• Field Bee
Re: New Hive
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2011, 11:03:27 am »
Welcome to the forum.   :cheer:

Despite what some beekeepers think, the bees are smarter at what they do then we are. Look for new eggs and larva in the comb, if it is there then the queen is working.

I will spray 1:1 sugar water on my foundations to encourage the bees to build on the new foundation. My uncle uses foundationless frames with about 2" of 'starter' comb mounted to the top. He also sprays his starter strips. Both methods have worked well for us. My uncle sells comb honey and I sell pure honey (no comb).  -Mike
Listen to others but make your own decisions. That way you own the results.
Please remember to read labels.

Offline Grieth

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2011, 05:14:29 am »
Where are you in Aust?
"The time has come," the walrus said, "to talk of many things: