Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Apiguard mistake - need advise please  (Read 3026 times)

Offline beeliever

• New Bee
Apiguard mistake - need advise please
« on: May 09, 2012, 05:54:53 pm »
I'm a newbie and forgot to check with my mentor first {embarrassed}.
I saw some red mites and grabbed 1 pack apiguard and placed in 1 hive for about 12-15 hours total.

the hive was previously weak anyway bc I had just split it and took too much honey racks out. So I was syrup feeding to get them back to strength when I saw the red mites. W/O thinnking I just grabbed the apiguard (about 2:30pm) and put it in there but early the next morning started realizing my mistake and removed it as early as 8:30 am. What are all my alternatives 2 days later to save honey? Is it  all damaged honey for human consumption after only that brief amount of exposure?
{sob} :'(

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Apiguard mistake - need advise please
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2012, 06:00:36 pm »
I would not take chances with the honey.   Leave it and count it as lost.  But it was not honey if you were feeding them.   You do not feed to get honey, you feed to get them to grow.   Did you have honey supers on?   Never feed with honey supers on, you will just harvest sugar water.  Leave it for the bees, and mark the frames as treated now. 

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2012, 06:01:41 pm »
i'm not sure why you'd be thinking about taking honey from a weak hive?  but yes, that honey that you have exposed should not be consumed by people.  it's not that  thimerosal is particularly harmful in small amounts; it's in things like mouthwash, but the honey would be considered contaminated by any standards i know.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline beeliever

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2012, 06:16:49 pm »