Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: constructing a wax dipping tank  (Read 7777 times)

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
constructing a wax dipping tank
« on: May 01, 2011, 10:48:55 pm »
Just wondering if anybody has constructed their own wax dipping tank? I'm thinking of using sheet steel rather than stainless - as i'm fairly new to welding etc i was also thinking of sitting it in a brick housing to take the pressure from a full tank so the stress on the welds is reduced. Underneath the tank i was going to install some gas burners for heating of the tank.

Does anybody have any advice/plans/guidance etc?

Cheers

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: constructing a wax dipping tank
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2011, 06:59:49 am »
Mine is just sheet steel.  Certainly not hard steel.  I'd leak test it well as heat tends to draw the wax through any crack you leave.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline VolunteerK9

• Super Bee
  • Gamecock fan in UT land.
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2011, 10:10:07 am »
I think I would use someone at a fabrication shop or at least someone proficient at welding. (Not saying you arent) Like MB said-you really dont want wax seeping out of cracks that you didnt see and spilling out onto an open flame.

Try your scrap yards. They may have something laying around.

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 01:02:18 am »
As far as size, I would make sure you have a good inch or two around it, but not more.  More is a wast of wax, less causes more boil overs as the bubbles coming off need some room in order to not boil over.  I'd go some increment of a full box.  Ideally I'd go for three mediums (two deeps) and one on end in the middle.