Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings to all fellow beekeepers  (Read 1226 times)

Offline BuzzaShuck

• Brood
  • 3000 year old bee hive found in Israel
Greetings to all fellow beekeepers
« on: June 12, 2008, 04:35:39 pm »
Just want to say hello to all and glad that the folks at beemaster has a sight like this where beekeepers can come together.   I am a beekeeper and a paramedic.  I am on the 911 list in two counties for bee emergencies which includes also, yellow jackets, hornets, and wasp.  Have seen some pretty bad infestations too.  Just a little rule if you ever get a call to remove anything other than honeybees, wear leather especially leather gloves when removing yellow jackets, wasp, and hornets.  And with the latter, is a good idea to wear some type of safety glasses.  The bee veil is good but hornets are bad about spraying venom.

And if you don't have a bee vacumn get one or make one. They are worth their weight in gold, when removing bees of anykind. And especially when the queen is hard to find in a hazardous house swarm that has been established for a few years.
Since April of this year I have removed over 400,000 bees from  homes that were established hives of at least three years.  And the bees are healthy.

Were dealing with some pretty hot weather presently and all the bees are clustering outside the hives now.  I have found that if you wet around the ground of the super with a lite mist of water it does seem to give them some relief.  But, natural instinct is going to run it's course here.    Have began some harvesting of pomegranate honey