Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Ok am I missing something about Hive Size?  (Read 3713 times)

Offline RHBee

• Queen Bee
  • That's my pooch.
Ok am I missing something about Hive Size?
« on: July 04, 2012, 07:28:14 pm »
I'm kinda new at this but I am reading that some beekeeps are letting there hives fill 3 or 4 deep boxes.
I thought two deeps were a maximum. I know that doing a full inspection on two deeps is time consuming enough. Looking for the queen, cleaning burr comb, looking at the brood pattern, looking for any number of problems. The rules I have been following are when 7 of 8 frames are drawn out add another brood box. When two brood boxes are full add honey supers. If the population supports it split the hive at least until the end of July. Feed if needed to get ready for winter. Make sure at least one honey super full for winter stores.
 I started in March with 1-3lb box and 2 5-frame nucs. I now have 3 strong hives, 1 nuc w/queen cell and 2-8 frame splits. I live in South Carolina. Help me out guys. Am I way off base.
Later,
Ray

Offline kingbee

• Queen Bee
Re: Ok am I missing something about Hive Size?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 10:58:39 pm »
In the Palmeto State as well as the Cotton State bees do face hard times.  Now is the time to think ahead or plan for that in our areas.

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2012, 11:06:52 pm »