Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Possible AFB, so what now?  (Read 5492 times)

Offline romduck

• House Bee
Possible AFB, so what now?
« on: August 17, 2009, 05:09:31 pm »
It is my first time encountering it, so even after pouring over the literature and the posts here, I'm not sure what my next best or MANDATORY step is.

The bullet points are:
-2 hives into Winter
-No notes on Fall inspection of anything odd.
-Lost both in the long cold wave in February, leaving honey in the hive.
-In June a swarm took up in one of the hives and I consolidated what honey was left from the other and gave it to them.
-Laying patterns looked great and they were building up without my help or feeding and I honestly didn't bother with them much.
-Today I found her laying pattern of eggs and young to uncapped larva still rock solid

BUT...
--I also found holes all over the place on the capped larva.
--Around 3-5 larva on a frame were mush. Sticky on a toothpick but not as ropey as some descriptions and with no particular odor.
--Some caps appeared slightly sunken but not dramatically.

So..
>Do I have to report this immediately to my agricultural research station?
>What else, if anything, do I need to do to diagnose?

And...
}Will Terramycin help at this point?
}Is it too late in the year to shake out the bees to separate them from the larva?
}Burn it, Burn it all!

Any thoughts? :?
--

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Possible AFB, so what now?
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 05:21:58 pm »
http://forum.beemaster.com/index.php/topic,11055.0.html

here is one discussion that we have had.  there are more if you do a search.