Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Unlimited Broodnest and Frame Manipulation  (Read 4514 times)

Offline TheMasonicHive

• House Bee
Unlimited Broodnest and Frame Manipulation
« on: June 27, 2010, 12:04:14 pm »
Hello everyone,

This is my first year keeping bees.  I've made a determination early on that I want to be good to the bees, and if they are good to me with a good honey crop, then all the better, but it isn't my aim.  I want bees that are given every opportunity to survive and be healthy.

I'm reading a bit about unlimited broodnest and I think my major goal for this year will be to establish this fashion of hive.

They say that I should be looking at establishing the hives broodnest in a "bell curve" orientation, which I understand.

A few questions:

1)  Is the "broodnest" simply ANYWHERE where brood is reared or is there a primary area that is termed the "broodnest".

2)  Are there any general rules regarding moving frames from one place to another in the hive?  I hear about not splitting up the broodnest, and I really can imagine that moving frames could be confusing to the bees.

Thanks everyone!
Christopher Peace
Oakland County, MI

"It teaches us that, as we come into the world rational and intelligent beings, so we should ever be industrious ones; never sitting down contented while our fellow-creatures around us are in want, when it is in our power to relieve them without inconvenience to ourselves." - Freemasonry on the Beehive

Offline TheMasonicHive

• House Bee
Re: Unlimited Broodnest and Frame Manipulation
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2010, 12:06:24 pm »
Oh, and if there are rules out there for moving frames from one place to another can you present a logical reason for WHY this is and what the bees experience when the frames are moved?  It would help me visualize things better!
Christopher Peace
Oakland County, MI