Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Trapout without eggs?  (Read 3052 times)

Offline Dogguy

• New Bee
Trapout without eggs?
« on: April 30, 2012, 11:21:18 pm »
I am new to bees, I only have a 3 week old hive.  Just so happens I find a new nest 50 ft from my house in a tree.  I can not cut the tree down so a trapout is the only way to capture it.  I have all the materials to do a trapout except a frame of eggs.  So what, if any are my options for getting this nest?

Thanks

Offline blanc

• House Bee
Re: Trapout without eggs?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2012, 11:26:03 pm »
I am in the same delima myself and went look at a tree for someone that is full of bees and need to do a trap out too. Awaiting response from the experienced folk out there.
Psalm 19:9-10
The fear of the Lord is clean,enduring forever; the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.
More to be desired are they than gold, yea ,than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.

Offline divemaster1963

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Queen Bee
  • God Protect and watch over our sons and daughters.
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2012, 11:29:46 pm »
Check with a local bee club. some one their should be willing to help out with a frame of eggs. most bee clubs are always willing to help everyone who has a love of the bees. If not You could Wait for awhile if your area has a long enough season to do the trap out in may. by then you should have enough brood to use from your hive. just heavy feed the hive you have to get them building.

You could always set swarm traps around and use it as a bee tree to get more hives. just one note. It gettttts verryyyy adddicctiiive. and the withdrawls are terrible. :-D

john

Offline duck

• House Bee
    • Big Thicket Bees
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2012, 11:30:43 pm »