Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Native Stingless New Home  (Read 3447 times)

Offline Bradless

• Brood
Native Stingless New Home
« on: July 06, 2015, 03:56:31 am »
Hi I am new to bees this weekend I cut down an old tree and after cut up one of the branches and I have realised it housed a native bee hive  :cry:  I have tried to protect the hive as much as I could but managed to cut in into 3 sections is there any way to rehouse them any help would be good please.

Offline weedyau

• New Bee
Re: Native Stingless New Home
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2015, 04:38:10 am »
If you can, reassemble the tree and sit the same way up again. Cover the top with something to keep them warm and dry. There's a cold change coming so I wouldn't box them now. They have a better chance of surviving in their existing home.

Where are you?

Offline Bradless

• Brood
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2015, 02:52:33 am »
Thanks weedyau i am in brisbane near browns plains. i have mounted the three pieces to a plank of wood but i would like to set up something more permanent. 

Offline BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2015, 12:35:08 pm »
I have tried to save hives from trees that were cut down several times. Most have had so much damage to the comb from that fall that they don't survive.
The last one, the owner said that the tree guy lowered it to the ground. Yea, he lowered it 6" and then dropped it the remaining 30'. The comb inside was so smashed together that I initially thought the comb was rotted wood. It wasn't until i touched it that I realized it was comb.
Jim
Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well armed lamb contesting the vote.
Ben Franklin

Offline Wombat2

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2015, 08:51:14 am »
Sawdust - our stingless native bees are very small and don't build comb as such but rather sacks of honey that hang down from the roof.