Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Question about splitting my hives  (Read 4106 times)

Offline hoxbar

• New Bee
Question about splitting my hives
« on: August 04, 2010, 07:02:09 pm »
Last year I got tired of my girls swarming. I had one hive swarm 3-4 different times. I think I want to split my hives to keep this from happening. I want to both grow my number of hives but I also want as much honey as possible. I run one deep hive body and one medium super on all my hives b/c here in southern Oklahoma our winters are not too bad. I was thinking about splitting my hives like this.

I plan on taking the medium supers off, putting it on a new hive stand and placing a deep hive body on top of the medium. I then would put an empty medium super on top of the original deep.  Would this work if I did it in the spring when my girls acted like they wanted to swarm and would I have enough bees to make honey? I could make nucs, but I want to make honey next year.

Please remember I'm new at this. Moderators if this is not the proper place to post this topice please feel free to move it.

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
Re: Question about splitting my hives
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2010, 07:08:59 pm »
Are you using a queen excluder between the single deep and the medium super? If so they are most likely crowded and will swarm often. Here in FL I use two deeps for brood minimum. I don't use excluders. It sounds like you may need to give her majesty a bit more room to lay.

Scott