Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: When to super?  (Read 2780 times)

Offline RangerBrad

• House Bee
When to super?
« on: March 03, 2011, 05:56:40 pm »
The first flowers of spring are blooming and even my peach tree is starting to bloom. Last year I supered on the 29th of march but on the 14th of april one of my two hives swarmed which left only one hive to supply all my honey. I did get 8 gal though. Is there a problem with supering early(now) to give more space and hopefully avoiding a swarm from my one remaining hive? The other died in the winter and new bees won't be here till end of may. Thank's, Brad
If the only dog you can here in the hunt is yours, your probaly missing the best part of the chase.

Offline backyard warrior

• House Bee
Re: When to super?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 06:28:04 pm »
Hi Brad im no expert but this is what i would do. The only time you super with lots of supers is when you have drawn comb in your frames then you super with 3 or 4 boxes if you dont have drawn comb only install one super at a time.  There are two kinds of swarms a congestion swarm and a propagation swarm. The propagation swarm has nothing to do with honey supers, bees will swarm whether you have honey supers on or not. In the spring before the nectar flow when you start to see dandelions the bees want to throw a propagation swarm too many bees not enough laying space for the queen, to prevent this propagation swarm you must keep the brood nest open have a young queen no more than 2 yrs old with good phermone and You can either do a split or just cage the queen to relieve congestion or you can remove a few frames in the brood nest and put foundation in there to relieve congestion in the brood nest. Next a  congestion swarm occurs during the nectar flow which involves the bees not having enuff supers for the nectar flow and they backfill the brood nest with nectar causing a congestion swarm  due to no space to store nectar because of the crowding of bees and nectar. Hope