Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Price of honey (lb) in your area  (Read 19750 times)

Offline Jkiefer16

• Brood
Price of honey (lb) in your area
« on: December 28, 2013, 12:36:03 pm »
Just seeing the price of honey per lb in each state.

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Price of honey (lb) in your area
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2013, 01:01:58 pm »
Since I was off to a late start and this is my first year beekeeping I'm still buying honey. The last I bought was $8 for a pint (pound). If I had offered it I believe they would have probably taken more  :-P
When the law no longer protects you from the corrupt, but protects the corrupt from you - then you know your nation is doomed.

Moots

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2013, 01:33:19 pm »
The last I bought was $8 for a pint (pound). :-P

GSF,
Was it a pint, or a pound?  This always gets confused with Honey, which is sold be weight, and not volume.  A pound of honey (16 oz.) typically is 12 fluid ounces, not a pint (16 fluid ounces)

I sold mine this year for $7 for a pound container, and $18 for a three pound container...Both in skep style plastic bottles with flip tops.

I think I was more expensive than most in my area. However, no one complained and I'm very close to being sold out of everything I had.  :-D

Offline GSF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2013, 01:45:00 pm »
<Was it a pint, or a pound?>

Hey Moots, I thought they were the same. So my uneducated guess would be a pint (with comb).
When the law no longer protects you from the corrupt, but protects the corrupt from you - then you know your nation is doomed.

Offline edward

• Queen Bee
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2013, 03:00:55 pm »
Is it the price in bulk beetween beekeepers or the price to the final customer?

mvh Edward  :-P

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2013, 03:54:36 pm »
I sell a pint as a pound and a half. 

Offline sweet bee

• House Bee
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2013, 07:52:02 pm »