Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: What flowers to plant in N.W. Washington that will help bees?  (Read 2229 times)

Offline winenutguy

• House Bee
What flowers to plant in N.W. Washington that will help bees?
« on: September 28, 2008, 12:43:21 am »
Hello all;  I'm a newbie that will have bees next spring.  My wife and I have 5 acres, mostly wooded, in N.W. Washington.  Could I get some advice from some gardeners and bee keepers here in the N.W. concerning flowers that the bees would especially like?  We are planning some landscaping in the spring anyway so I thought it might be nice to give the bees some things they really like.  I'm not trying to make a lot of honey, just give the bees something they really like.  Native to the region would be nice.  Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you all.  Winenutguy.

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Re: What flowers to plant in N.W. Washington that will help bees?
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2008, 07:45:34 am »
The rule I use for bee plants are simple: it must look nice, flower well, attract bees, and have a human food use.  The last is the most important.  If I can't eat it I don't need it.  Feed the bees and the bees feed me.
Life is a school.  What have you learned?   :brian:      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!

Offline Shawn

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2008, 01:58:31 pm »
I agree with Brian. Look at the gardening section. There are lots of post on good plants for bees. You just have to look to see what grows in your area. Cindi and others have put a lot of time in gathering and documenting all the plants for bees.

Offline winenutguy

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2008, 03:45:33 pm »
Thank you both.  I'll take a look at the gardening section and the things Cindi suggests.  Best, Marc

Offline jojoroxx

• House Bee