Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Quick Q-> old hive queenless + 3 new packages =?  (Read 1734 times)

Offline romduck

• House Bee
Quick Q-> old hive queenless + 3 new packages =?
« on: May 06, 2007, 11:44:33 am »
Only 1 hive made it through Winter but was gangbusters in early Spring.

Found they had swarmed (less bee, 8 open queen cells) a couple of weeks ago. No new queen, no laying. waited...

Yesterday installed 3 new packages with success (hopefully) but found that the old hive had only laying workers but TONS of honey/pollen.

Should I try to re-queen with no local supplier (they've been queenless for weeks already) or should I try to combine them with one of the other hives?

If I combine then, is it too early to use the "shake-out" method and empty the hive a ways away to let some of them fly back to the other newly installed hive?

This is my first year installing packages and I would rather lose the one old hive then disrupt the establishment of the new packages.
--

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Quick Q-> old hive queenless + 3 new packages =?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2007, 12:22:29 pm »
i had the same problem.  i would combine them.  i'd use the newspaper method.  it's easier and you'll save more bees.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline newbee101

• House Bee
    • http://www.acmepainting.com
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2007, 12:30:26 pm »
I agree with kathyp. I tried to requeen a queenless hive. Never worked, waste of time. I shook them out and took the equipment away. They will boost your other hives up. Freeze that drone comb to kill any mites. Then you can give your new hives some of that valuable drawn comb from the shakeout.
Good Luck. If you REALLY needed it, I could be persuaded to sell you a 1 year old Queen, with bees and brood.  ;)
"To bee or not to bee"

Offline romduck

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2007, 03:56:17 pm »